Connect with us


Wike, El-Rufai Make Tinubu’s Ministerial List



Nyesom Wike, former governor of Rivers State, and Nasir El-Rufai, a colleague from Kaduna, are on the list of candidates for federal cabinet positions.

It was learned that in the early hours of Thursday, President Bola Tinubu sent the Senate the list of nominees for ministers.

The list is being released two days before the President’s deadline, as required under the ninth Assembly’s amendments to the constitution.

According to the Ninth Senate’s amendment to the 1999 constitution, Tinubu has just two days left before the President must announce the members of his cabinet.

Other Nominees

Some other names on the list to be formally unveiled by President of the Senate include Governorship candidate of Accord Party in Oyo State in the last general elections, Bayo Adelabu and prominent legal practitioner, Lateef Fagbemi.

Also on the list are immediate past Osun State Governor, Gboyega Oyetola and National Women Leader of the All Progressives Congress, Beta Edu.

Section 42 of the constitution states that “(a) the nomination of any person to the office of a Minister for confirmation by the Senate shall be done within sixty days after the date the President has taken the oath of office;

(b) not less than ten per cent of persons appointed as Ministers shall be women:

Provided that the President may appoint a Minister at any other time during his tenure and such appointment shall be subject to confirmation by the Senate.”

The law further stipulates that the President must choose at least one minister from each of the 36 federation-member states.

The real ministerial list of President Bola Tinubu would be revealed today, according to Jackson Udom, the Senate President’s media adviser.

He also advised Nigerians to refrain from speculation and to hold off till the nominations were announced.

Continue Reading