Connect with us

Showbiz & Entertainment

Checkout The 44 Past Winners Of Miss Nigeria



Annually, the Miss Nigeria pageant honours Nigerian women’s strengths and grants scholarships for higher education.

The winner sets an example for young women in the nation with exceptional abilities. Daily Times is presently in charge of organizing the contest.

Participants must be of Nigerian citizenship, unmarried, childless, and not pregnant, and have a strong grasp of English. They must be between the ages of 18 and 25, in good physical and moral health, and have only their ears pierced.

Miss Nigeria

Shatu Garko, an 18-year-old hijab model who represented the northeast, Kano, is the current title holder. She is the first hijabi contestant and the first Muslim winner in the 64-year history of the pageant.

In this article, we highlight all past winners of the Miss Nigeria pageant. So, enjoy the read.


1957 – Grace Oyelude

Miss Nigeria


1958 – Helen Anyamaeluna

Miss Nigeria

1959 – Nene Etule Victoria

Nene Etule Victoria (Now Nene Malafa)


1960 – Rosemary Anieze

Rosemary Anieze (later known as Rosemary Anieze-Adams) was also known as “Miss Independence”. She represented Mid-Western Region. She later worked in TV and radio.


1961 – Clara Emefiena


1962 – Yemi Idowu

Miss Nigeria

Yemi Idowu (Now Yemi Majekodunmi) represented Western Region ; she was also semi-finalist at Miss United Nations


1963 – Alice Adepe

Miss Nigeria

Alice Adepe represented Northern Nigeria; she was the First Idoma winner


1964 – Edna Park

Edna Park represented Mid-Western Region First – and last – official Miss Nigeria at Miss Universe; now lives in the United Kingdom


1965 – Anna Eboweime

Anna Eboweime represented Mid-Western Region


1967 – Rosaline Yinka Balogun

Miss Nigeria

Rosaline Yinka Balogun represented Western State. She was the first official Miss Nigeria at Miss World

1968 – Foluke Ogundipe

Miss Nigeria

Foluke Ogundipe represented Western State



1970 – Stella Owivri

Miss Nigeria

Stella Owivri represented Lagos


1972 – Victoria Bamidele

Victoria Bamidele represented Lagos State.


1977 – Toyin Monney

Toyin Monney represented Lagos


1978 – Irene Omagbemi

1979 – Helen Prest

Helen Prest represented Bendel. She was later known as Helen-Prest Davis and now Helen Prest-Ajayi. She is lawyer, author and columnist

1980 – Syster Jack

Syster Jack represented Lagos

1981 – Tokunbo Onanuga

Tokunbo Onanuga represented Lagos. She was dethroned after false WAEC results were discovered.


1982 – Rita Martins

Rita Martins represented Lagos

1984 – Cynthia Oronsaye

Cynthia Oronsaye represented Lagos


1985 – Rosemary Okeke

Rosemary Okeke Imo later known as Rosemary Wright, is a fashion designer. She is the last Miss Nigeria at Miss World.


1986 – Rita Anuku

Rita Anuku represented Bendel State.


1987 – Stella Okoye

Stella Okoye represented Imo State


1988 – Wunmi Adebowale

Wunmi Adebowale represented Lagos. She is now Wunmi Ogunbiyi; an ex-manager with Zenith Bank, and now a business woman

1990 – Binta Sukai

Binta Sukai represented Kaduna


1991 – Bibiana Ohio

Bibiana Ohio (now known as Bibiana Ohio-Esezeoboh) represented Lagos. Former actress is now real estate agent and voice artist


1993 – Janet Fateye

Janet Fateye later known as Janet Gabriel. She represented Lagos State. She is an IT consultant in United Kingdom


1994 – Clara Ojo

Clara Ojo represented Edo State. She is the longest-serving Miss Nigeria Miss Nigeria. She is now known as Clara Kolawole, she is an ordained pastor.

1998 – Regina Nwabunar Abia

Regina Nwabunar represented Abia State


2000 – Vien Tetsola

Vien Tetsola also known as the “Millennium Queen” represented Delta State. She is now known as Israel Shepherd; a pastor


2001a – Valerie Ama Peterside

Valerie Ama Peterside represented Rivers State. She was dethroned for falsifying her age and qualifications

2001b – Amina Ekpo

Amina Ekpo replaced Peterside Akwa Ibom. She is now an applied chemist

2002 – Sylvia Edem

Sylvia Edem represented Cross River State. She is the first South-South winner; now Sylvia Emechete, a businesswoman


2003 – Nwando Okwuosa

Nwando Okwuosa represented Anambra State. She is the last Miss Nigeria to compete at international level


2004 – Ene Lawani

Ene Lawani represented Benue State. She is now a fashion designer specializing in headgear


2010 – Damilola Agbajor

Miss Nigeria

Damilola Agbajor represented Delta State


2011 – Feyijimi Sodipo

Miss Nigeria

Feyijimi Sodipo represented Ogun State


2013 – Ezinne Akudo Anyaoha

Miss Nigeria

Ezinne Akudo Anyaoha represented Imo State. She is now a lawyer and activist


2015 – Lessi Peter-Vigboro

Miss Nigeria

Lessi Peter-Vigboro represented Cross River State. She is the first Ogoni winner; now a professional photographer


2016 – Chioma Obiadi

Chioma Obiadi represented Anambra State, she was previously Miss Earth Nigeria 2016


2017 – Mildred Peace Ehiguese

Miss Nigeria

Mildred Peace Ehiguese represented Adamawa becoming the first North-Eastern winner


2018 – Chidinma Leilani Aaron

Miss Nigeria

Chidinma Leilani Aaron represented Enugu State


2019 – Beauty Etsanyi Tukura

Miss Nigeria

Beauty Etsanyi Tukura represented Taraba State



2021 – Shatu Sani Garko (Current Miss Nigeria)