Connect with us


Meet The 10 Men That Have Governed Edo State



Before we delve into the list of the past Governors Of Edo State, it is important we know a little about the state.

Edo State is one of the 36 states of Nigeria, located in the southern region of the country.

As of the 2006 National population census, the state was ranked as the 24th populated state (3,233,366) in Nigeria.

The state’s capital and city, Benin City, is the fourth largest city in Nigeria.

Created on August 27, 1991, from the former Bendel State, Edo State borders Kogi State to the northeast, Anambra State to the east, Delta State to the southeast, and Ondo State to the west.

Below, we highlight the individuals that were Edo State administrators and governors when the former Bendel State was split into Edo State and Delta State.


John Ewerekumoh Yeri (1991 – 1992)

Colonel John Ewerekumoh Yeri was appointed as Governor of Bendel State, and served between August 1991 and January 1992 during General Ibrahim Babangida’s regime.

In 1991, when Bendel State was split into Edo and Delta State, he continued as governor of Edo State until January 1992.

In January 1992, Yeri handed over to an elected civilian governor.


John Odigie Oyegun (1992 – 1993)

Past Governors Of Edo State

Chief John Oyegun was elected as the first civilian governor of Edo State on the SDP platform in 1992. This was during the transition to democracy launched by General Ibrahim.

Oyregun served as governor between January 1992 and November 1993, during the aborted Nigerian Third Republic.

He was removed from office after General Sani Abacha scuttled the Third Republic and seized power.

Later, John Odigie Oyegun became a leader of the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP). He later served as the first national chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC).


Mohammed Onuka (1993 – 1994)

Colonel Mohammed Abul-Salam Onuka served as Military Administrator of Edo State between 9 December 1993 and 14 September 1994.

He took over from the civilian governor, John Odigie Oyegun, at the start of the military administration of General Sani Abacha.

Colonel Mohammed Abul-Salam Onuka is from Okene in Kogi State. He is the first cousin to the present Governor of Kogi State Yahaya Bello (APC).


Bassey Asuquo (1994 -1996)

Colonel Bassey Asuquo served as Military Administrator of Edo State from September 1994 to December 1996, during the military regime of General Sani Abacha.

Before then, he was the Military Governor of Delta State between December 1993 and September 1994.

Asuquo retired as a brigadier general.


Baba Adamu Iyam (1996 -1998)

Group Captain Baba Adamu Iyam served as Military Administrator of Edo State from 22 August 1996  to 7 August 1998, during the military regime of General Sani Abacha.

Prior to then, he served as Military Administrator of Kwara State between September 1994 and August 1996.

Group Captain Iyam reportedly sacked 8,000 Edo state workers.

In February 1997, he halted all grants to the Edo State University since he considered that the government ought not to fund universities, and appointed a Sole Administrator for the university.



Anthony Onyearugbulem (1998 – 1999)

Past Governors Of Edo State

Navy Captain Anthony Ibe Onyearugbulem became military administrator of Edo State in August 1998, during the military regime of General Sani Abacha.

He served as military administrator of Ondo State (August 1996 – August 1998).

Onyearugbulem handed over power to the civilian governor Lucky Igbinedion in May 1999.

He died on 26 July 2002 (aged 47).


Lucky Igbinedion  (1999 – 2007)

Past Governors Of Edo State

Lucky Nosakhare Igbinedion was elected governor of Edo State in April 1999 on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

He held the office from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007.

During the period of his governorship, he was elected by his colleagues as Chairman of the Nigerian Governors’ Forum (NGF). Past Governors Of Edo State


Oserheimen Osunbor (2007 – 2008)

Past Governors Of Edo State

Professor Oserheimen Osunbor served as a Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007.

He later became the Governor of Edo State serving from 29 May 2007 to 11 November 2008.

On 20 March 2008, the Edo State Governorship Election Tribunal declared that Osunbor’s election was invalid, and asked the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw his certificate and declare Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole of the Action Congress (AC) party the winner.


Adams Oshiomhole (2008 – 2016)

Past Governors Of Edo State

Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole served as the executive governor of Edo State from 12 November 2008 to 12 November 2016.

He had previously served as the President of Nigeria Labour Congress from 1999 to 2007.

He later became the National Chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

As APC National Chairman, he was suspended from office by the Abuja Court of Appeal on 16 June 2020.


Godwin Obaseki (2016 – Date)

Past Governors Of Edo State

Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki is the current Governor of Edo State.

He was first sworn in as governor on 12 November 2016. He was re-elected on 20 September 2020.

Before becoming governor, he had served as the chairman of the Edo State Economic and Strategy Team inaugurated by former Governor Adams Oshiomole in March 2009. Past Governors Of Edo State

Continue Reading