Connect with us


All Super Eagles Coaches: 1940s Till Date



The national football team of Nigeria is nicknamed Super Eagles, formerly Green Eagles. Super Eagles Coaches

After playing other colonies in unofficial games since the 1930s, the Super Eagles played its first official game in October 1949, while Nigeria was still a British Colony.

The team’s first major success was a gold medal in the 2nd All-Africa games, with 3rd place finishes in the 1976 and 1978 Africa Cup of Nation to follow.

In April 1994, Super Eagles ranked 5th in the FIFA World Rankings, the highest ranking achieved by an African football team. Super eagles coaches

Nigerian footballers, some bare-footed, during a training session at Everton’s training ground in Liverpool. A squad of fifteen players, the first time a Soccer team has left Nigeria, will tour the United Kingdom playing top amateur sides. Most of the players prefer to play bare-footed and can still drive a ball over 70 yards without boots. (PA Images via Getty Images)

Nigeria has won the Africa Cup of Nations three times (1980, 1994 and most recently, 2013).

They have been runners-up four times (1984,1988,1990 and 2000). They have finished in third place seven times, including four times recently (2002, 2004, 2006, and 2010).

It would interest you to know that close to forty (40) coaches have coached the Nigeria Super Eagles Football Team from inception. These coaches were drawn from different nationalities.

So, what are we waiting for? Let’s launch right away into the pool to find out who these coaches are!


1. England: John Flinch (1949)


2. Nigeria: Daniel Anyiam (1954-1956)


3. England: Les Courtier (1956-1960)

4. Israel: Moshe “Jerry” Beit haLevi

5. Hungary: George Vardar (1961-1963)


6. England: Joey Blackwell (1963-1964)

7. Nigeria: Daniel Anyiam (1964-1965)

8. Hungary: Jossef Ember (1965-1968)

Jossef Ember


9. Spain: Sabino Barinaga (1968-1969)

Sabino Barinaga


10. Nigeria: Peter ‘Eto’Amaechina (1969-1970)

11. West Germany: Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1970-1971)

Karl-Heinz Marotzke


12. Brazil: Jorge Penna (1972-1973)

13. West Germany: Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1974)


14. Yugoslavia: Tihomir “Tiko” Jelisavcic (1975-1978)

15. Brazil: Otto Gloria (1979-1982)

Otto Gloria


16. West Germany: Gottlieb Goller (1981)

17. Nigeria: Festus Onigbinde (1983-1984)

Festus Onigbinde


18. Nigeria: Chris Udemezue (1984-1986)

19. Nigeria: Patrick Ekeji (1985)

Patrick Ekeji


20. Nigeria: Paul Hamilton (1987-1989)

Paul Hamilton

21. West Germany: Manfred Höner (fr) (1988–1989)



22. Netherlands: Clemens Westerhof (1989-1994) Technical Adviser

Clemens Westerhof

23. Nigeria: Shaibu Amodu (1994–1995)


24.  Netherland: Jo Bonfrere (1995 –1996)

Jo Bonfrere


25. France: Philippe Troussier (1997)

Philippe Troussier


26. Nigeria: Monday Sinclair (1997–1998)


27. Serbia: Bora Milutinović (1998)

Bora Milutinović


28. Netherlands: Thijs Libregts (1999)


29. Netherland: Jo Bonfrere (2000)

Jo Bonfrere


30. Nigeria: Shuaibu Amodu (2001-2002)

31. Nigeria: Festus Onigbinde (2002)

32. Nigeria: Christian Chukwu (2002-2005)


33. Nigeria: Augustine Eguavoen (2005-2007)

34. Germany: Berti Vogts (2007-2008)



35. Nigeria: James Peters (2008)



36. Nigeria: Shuaibu Amodu (2008-2010)



37. Sweden: Lars Lagerback (2010)



38. Nigeria: Augustine Eguavoen (2010)



39. Nigeria: Samson Siasia (2010-2011)



40. Nigeria: Stephen Keshi (2011-2014)



41. Nigeria: Shuaibu Amodu (2014)

42. Nigeria: Stephen Keshi (2014)

43. Nigeria: Daniel Amokachi (2014-2015)

44. Nigeria: Stephen Keshi (2015)

45. Nigeria: Sunday Oliseh (2015-2016)



46. Germany: Gernot Rohr (2016-present)

There you have them; all of Nigeria’s football team’s coaches with their respective nationalities and years they serve.


Continue Reading